Tags

,

Eat The Rich was written by P.J. O’Rourke and was published by the Atlantic Monthly Press in 1998.

The book is about Economics. The writer is a conservative humorist and although I disagree with his conclusions he did make me laugh. I don’t know if I was supposed to learn anything about Economics by reading it (I didn’t) but I chuckled plenty at things such as (while in Albania after the economy collapsed there):

Elmaz said the looting had pretty much stopped, at least in the thirty or forty kilometers around Tirana. I asked him whether the OSCE force had imposed law and order. He didn’t think so.(…)I asked him if the government had managed to quiet things down (…) but Elmaz didn’t think the police had done much except pester Sali Berisha’s political opponents. “Then what stopped the looting?” I said.
“They were finished,” said Elmaz.

At the end, Mr. O’Rourke concludes that Capitalism should be selfish and that rich people are heroes.

I don’t know why I own this book. I’ve had it for so long I forgot why I bought it. I am glad I read it but I don’t think it was written for the likes of me.

On to my next book.

