Tags

The Fred Factor is a non-fiction, motivational book by motivational speaker Mark Sanborn. The book was published in 2004 by Currency Doubleday.

This book was inspired by mail carrier Fred Shea, whom the author met when he moved to a new house. Fred went above and beyond his duties and this attention to superior service gave Mr. Sanborn the idea for the book. In a nutshell, the book is about delivering excellent service.

The book is organized in 4 major parts:
What is a Fred?
Becoming a Fred.
Developing Other Freds.
For The Love Of Fred.

To me, the section of the book I was more interested in was part two: Becoming a Fred.
In this section there are four subsections that delineate the steps to become a Fred:
Everyone Makes A Difference.
Success is Built On Relationships.
Continually Create Value For Others.
Reinvent Yourself Regularly.

I found the book to be simple yet I thought it accomplished the goal of inspiring me. I believe that the book inspires because of its simplicity. I can get behind clear and concise instructions. The book is also peppered with stories and anecdotes the author uses to illustrate how one can deliver superior service in all walks of life.

Finally, although the book is very short, –108 pages not counting the Appendix, and you can easily read it in one hour, you can get most of its value in even a shorter time by simply reading the last section of the book; For The Love Of Fred.
This last section is where the actual Fred Shea tells the author the reasons why he does what he does.

As far as I know, at the time of this post (Dec 23, 2014) Fred Shea is still alive although I believe he is now retired.

