I had heard about this book for a long time. Now and again, it shows up on lists about the books one has to read in a lifetime. The book was first published in 1962 and it was written by Madeleine L’Engle.

I finally read it. The book is about three special children; Meg, Charles Wallace, and Calvin, who venture out to save Meg’s and Charles’ father who, as a part of a group of scientists, traveled to another world using a tesserac. Aided by Mrs Whatsit, Mrs Who, and Mrs Which they become involved in a war against IT.

The book is classified as Science Fantasy. The repeated use of religious concepts and symbology reminds me of works by C.S. Lewis.

I was expecting to like this book more than I did. Maybe it had been built up too much or maybe it is because it was written for children and I read it for the first time as an adult.

Regardless, my next book is House Rules by Jodi Picoult. House Rules has been sitting on my co-worker’s desk for a year now and she said I could borrow it.

